Bit Of A Yarn

Where the Hell is the Racing Calendar for the Next 6 Months!

NZTR you are dropping the ball, the reins and your feet have fallen out of the stirrups!

Show some gumption and post a calendar of dates for the next 6 months at least!  Give some certainty to all the people on the ground that are working hard to provide YOU with a product.  

As a Project Manager I had a maxim that I was often requoted on:  The first principle of Project Management is to define the Black and White and only then can you manage the Grey!

So NZTR define the black and white of the calendar!  Give some certainty to people to plan - you have no idea of the timelines to train and get horses to the races.  You have ONE JOB - do it!

If shyte comes our way then MANAGE it - manage the grey!  Doing NOTHING is worse than doing something and maybe only getting less than 10% of it wrong!

• Like 1

If they let participants know what the real position was and started treating them with some respect they might find people were a bit more forgiving in their criticism . Unless we start getting some strategic plans in place to get racing back on a solid footing then we are going to keep meandering along on a month by month basis and nothing ever gets improved . They need to outline a plan for the next 12 months , 24 months , 5 years then 10/20 years , set some goals , get participants involved in the decision making . No one is expecting an overnight solution , but we need to know the extent of the problem so we can understand it and start to help solving it .

Racing needs to be completely rebuilt , what worked 10/20/30/ years ago isn't now or going forward , gallops needs to be completely stripped down and re constructed so that it works both as a sport and an industry for many years to come . I don't know much about the other codes but i'm sure they are in the same boat from reading what others have to say about them .